Update – Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

May 24, 2021 | Divisional Announcements, General

To: All Divisional Faculty and Staff
From: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
Subject: Update - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Dear Physical and Biological Sciences Division Friends and Colleagues:

We are pleased to give you an update on some of the Science DEI Committee activities:

  • The Science DEI website recently went live at dei.science.ucsc.edu.  You will find links to a  feedback form throughout the website – please send us your comments, questions, and any additional resources or information that you think needs to be added to the website.
  • The S21 Science DEI Interdepartmental Summit was held on May 12, 2021, and information about the Summit is now posted on the website.
  • The Work-Study Research Initiative will be launched in F21, and we are now looking for three faculty facilitators to help run the program.  This is a great opportunity for faculty to get involved in a program that promotes inclusion and a sense of belonging to low-income undergraduate science researchers. We welcome self-nominations (due June 15, 2021) to serve as a faculty facilitator. Questions can be directed to Peter Weiss (pweiss@ucsc.edu) or Christina Ravelo (acr@ucsc.edu).
  • The Science Faculty Experience and Recognition Survey has been launched. This is a unique opportunity for the division to collect feedback from faculty on the current policies, workload, and needed changes related to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) across all aspects of their work, and on their experiences with climate in the department and division. The survey results will inform new policies and practices to strengthen collegiality and appropriately reward faculty involvement in DEI efforts. Every faculty member’s participation is essential for ensuring that the results represent our faculty’s experiences, contributions, and suggestions. Please follow this link to login with CruzID Gold to ensure full confidentiality of survey data.

Many thanks,
The Science DEI Committee:

Christina Ravelo (Faculty, OS, and Associate Dean of PBS)
Benny Mosqueira (MCD undergraduate student)
Debra Lewis (Faculty, Math)
Doug Kellogg (Faculty, MCD)
Kalina Browne (CSP graduate student)
Peter Weiss (Lecturer and Researcher, Chemistry)
Rexton Lynn (Divisional Lead Adviser, PBSci & Undergraduate Adviser, Chemistry)
Roxanne Beltran (Faculty, EEB)
Tesla Jeltema (Faculty, Physics)
Yuli Ortega (STEM Diversity program director)

If you have any questions or comments, please contact pbscidei@ucsc.edu